LCC local group meetings to decide our Space for Cycling local election campaign demands

Space for Cycling -2014 Local Elections Campaign

We’re planning for 2014 to be a milestone year for the London Cycling Campaign. We’re organising a hugely ambitious campaign to put safe space for cycling on the agenda of thousands of councillor candidates in the run up to the local elections in May 2014. Our councils control 90% of our city streets, and it’s vital the authorities take steps to improve them so they’re safe and inviting enough for cycling to be a genuine choice for every Londoner, whatever their age or ability

Our campaign will target local election candidates, many of whom will go on to become councillors and make key decisions about how our neighbourhood streets are designed. Read more about the campaign.

What will be calling for?

We’ve defined the treatments that can turn streets into genuine space for cycling, but we want our members and supporters to choose exactly what issues we campaign on in your local area. Our elected Policy Forum has helped by highlighting six areas that are vital to improve cycling in Greater London and the specific demands we'll be making in your area will fall under one of these areas:

1. Protected space on main streets and through major junctions

2. Removal of through motor traffic from minor streets

3. Introduction of 20mph speed limits

4. Safe cycling routes for schoolchildren

5. Safe cycling routes for town centres

6. Safe cycling routes through parks and other green spaces like along canals

How can I get involved?

Our network of local groups are currently working through the data from our Space for Cycling survey late in 2013 to see what problem areas you highlighted as a concern. They'll be using this information, along with their own local knowledge and expertise to decide on one key cycling demand or 'ask' for every ward in their borough. It's these demands that we'll be pressing candidates on ahead of the elections. We'll be calling on all Londoners to support our campaign and urging them to contact their candidates via our online tools.

Help your local group decide on local campaign demands

Many local groups are holding public meetings to discuss the issues and agree on the list of campaign demands for their boroughs. You can see the details of the meeting in your area below. Please note that list will be updated as we confirm more meetings. But you are welcome to contact the local group directly (emails are provided below or contact activism@lcc.org.uk) to find out how you can get involved.

 

Local Group Meeting Dates

 

Barking & Dagenham - barkinganddagenham@lcc.org.uk 

Thursday 6th Feb, 6.30pm, The Spotted Dog, 15a Longbridge Rd, Barking, Essex IG11 8TN

Barnet barnet@lcc.org.uk

Thursday February 27, 7pm. Trinity Church, Nether St. N12 

Bexley -bexley@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 12th Feb, 7.30pm, Hurst Community Centre, Hurst Road, Bexley, DA5 3LH

Brentbrent@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 5th February, 7.00-9.00pm, Atrium of the Crown Moran Hotel, 142–152 Cricklewood Broadway NW2 3ED. 

Bromleybromley@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 12th Feb, 6.30-8.30pm, Community House, South Street, Bromley, Kent, BR1 1RH

Camdencamden@lcc.org.uk 

Monday 17th February, 7.30pm, Primrose Hill Community Association, 29 Hopkinsons Place off Fitzroy Road, London NW1 8TN

Croydoncroydon@lcc.org.uk 

Monday 10th February, 7.45pm, Spreadeagle pub in Katharine Street

Ealingealing@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 5th February, 7.30pm, Café Grove, 65 The Grove , Ealing, London W5 5LL  

Enfield enfield@lcc.org.uk 

Monday 24th February. 8pm, Jubilee Hall, 2 Parsonage Lane, Enfield, EN2 

Greenwichgreenwich@lcc.org.uk 

Please email the group directly if you would like to get involved in Greenwich.

Hackneyhackney@lcc.org.uk

This meeting took place in January - contact the group for details

Hammersmith & Fulham hammersmithandfulham@lcc.org.uk

Monday February 17th, 6.30pm, Blue Anchor at 13, Lower Mall, Hammersmith, W6 9DJ see website for more details

Haringeyharingey@lcc.org.uk 

Monday February 10th, 7.15 - 8.30pm, The Great Northern Railway Tavern, Hornsey

Harrowharrow@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 19th February, 7.30pm. The meeting will take place in Longley Road, HA1 4TH - please contact the group for the full address.

Haveringhavering@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 19th February, 8pm, Chequers Inn pub, North Street, Hornchurch, Essex, RM11 1ST

Hillingdon  - activism@lcc.org.uk 

Thursday 20th February, 7.30pm The Old Fox pub, 16 High Road, Ickenham, Ickenham, Uxbridge, UB10 8LJ

Hounslow  - hounslow@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 29th January, 7.30pm, Express Tavern Brentford, TW8 0EW 

Islington - islington@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 12th February, 7.30 - 9.30pm, Town Hall, Upper Street N1. Visit their website for info.

Kensington & Chelsea - kensingtonandchelsea@lcc.org.uk

Thursday 6th February, 7pm. They'll be meeting at the main entrance to Imperial College on Exhibition Road (by the big brain!)

Kingston upon Thames - kingston@lcc.org.uk

Tuesday 11th February, 8pm, Richard Mayo Centre (at United Reformed Church), Eden Street, KT1 1HZ

Lambethlambeth@lcc.org.uk 

Tuesday 18th February, venue TBC - see website for information

Lewishamlewisham@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday 19th February, 6.30pm, LOCATION UPDATED! Lewisham Town Hall, Catford Rd, London SE6 4RU

Mertonmerton@lcc.org.uk

Thursday 30th January, 8pm, All Saints Centre, All Saints Road, Wimbledon, SW19 1BX.

Newhamnewham@lcc.org.uk 

Monday 10th February, 7pm, CoffeE7, 10 Sebert Rd, London E7 0NQ

Redbridge - redbridge@lcc.org.uk

Friday 7th February, 7pm, Seasons Bar, 15 The Broadway, Woodford Green, IG8 0HQ

Richmond -richmond@lcc.org.uk

Monday 10th February, 8pm, Old Ship pub in Richmond on the corner of King Street, opposite Dickens and Jones. - See website for details 

Southwark -southwark@lcc.org.uk

Wednesday 12th February, 6.30pm, LOCATION UPDATED! Peckham Liberal Club, 24 Elm Grove, London, SE15 5DE. Visit the website for more details.

Suttonsutton@lcc.org.uk 

Saturday 22nd February, 9.30 - 4pm (drop in when you like!) Meeting room above TazZa Coffee, 188 High Street, Sutton, SM1 1NR 

Tower Hamlets - towerhamlets@lcc.org.uk 

Wednesday, 12 February, 7pm, St. Margaret's House, 21 Old Ford Road E2 9PL

Waltham Forestwalthamforest@lcc.org.uk

Tuesday 25th February, 7.30pm, Quaker Meeting House in Walthamstow, 1A Jewel Road, E17 4QU. Vegetarian food and soft drinks provided! 

Wandsworthwandsworth@lcc.org.uk 

Tuesday 11th February, 8pm, Furzedown Pub - 118 Mitcham Lane, SW16 6NR

Westminsterwestminster@lcc.org.uk

Monday 10th February, 7pm, Cleveland Arms, 28 Chilworth Street, W2 6DT 

 

All local groups are looking for people to help with the campaign in their area ahead of the local elections. If you think you can help in any form in your borough, please contact activism@lcc.org.uk. Read more about the type of help we need.

Our local groups usually meet once a month, so if you can’t attend the next meeting, there will be others. It’s an exciting time to be involved and there’ll be lots of opportunities to help us put cycling on top of the agenda at the elections in May. Email getinvolved@lcc.org.uk to find out more.

Post a reply

Sign in to post a reply.